Categories
yidSide

Let My People Go exhibit

This exhibition tells the story of Jews in the former Soviet Union who wanted to emigrate but were denied permission to leave. Visitors will learn about their efforts to maintain a Jewish identity and community life, their struggles with Soviet authorities, and the support the movement generated worldwide.

This traveling exhibition is organized and circulated by the State of Israel–Ministry of Public Diplomacy and Diaspora Affairs and Beit Hatfutsot, the Museum of the Jewish People, Tel Aviv.

It is part of the original exhibition Jews of Struggle: The Jewish National Movement in the USSR, 1967–1989, curated by Beit Hatfutsot in 2007. It was initiated by the Remember and Save Association and its director Aba Taratuta.

The exhibition has been adapted for American audiences in cooperation with the Museum of Jewish Heritage – A Living Memorial to the Holocaust.

Museum Admission
$12 adults
$10 seniors 65 and up
$7 students
Children 12 and under are admitted for free.
Members are admitted for free.

Hours
Sunday-Tuesday, Thursday 10 A.M. – 5:45 P.M.
Wednesday 10 A.M. – 8 P.M.
Friday 10 A.M. – 5 P.M. (Daylight Saving Time)
Friday & eve of Jewish holidays 10 A.M. – 3 P.M.
(Eastern Standard Time)

Closed Saturdays, Jewish holidays, and Thanksgiving.

Last admission to the Museum is 30 minutes prior to closing time.

Holiday Closures
The Museum will be closed for Thanksgiving and all major Jewish holidays, including:

Rosh Hashanah – Thursday, September 29
Rosh Hashanah – Friday, September 30
Yom Kippur Eve – Friday, October 7 (Early Closing 3 p.m.)
Sukkot – Thursday, October 13
Sukkot – Friday, October 14
Shemini Atzeret – Thursday, October 20
Simchat Torah – Friday, October 21
Passover Eve – Friday, April 6 (Early Closing 3 p.m.)
Passover (2nd Day) – Sunday, April 8
Passover (7th Day) – Friday, April 13
Shavuot ( 1st Day) – Sunday, May 27
Shavuot (2nd Day) – Monday, May 28

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *